follow us on facebook
3219 MacArthur Road / Whitehall, Pa 18052

Recreation Commission

Whitehall Township The Recreation Commission assists and advises the Board of Commissioners and the Township Executive on the use and allotment of any money and/or land received through subdivisions and land development.

It is composed of nine members from various aspects of the community and makes decisions on development and maintenance of parks and playgrounds, fosters recreational programs and opportunities for the residents, gives recommendations on plans to utilize all the resources of the township and serves as an organizational umbrella for other advisory boards, such as the Garden and Beautification Club, Historical Preservation Society, Ironton Rail-Trail Oversight Commission, Environmental Advisory Council, park and playground boards, senior citizens, the disabled community and the general citizenry, with clear communications and cooperation.

The Commission meets the fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Whitehall Township Municipal Building, 3219 MacArthur Road.

Members of organizations contributing to this Commission are recommended by their organization to the Board of Commissioners for appointment. Individuals who can represent the senior citizen or disabled community or the general citizenry are invited to apply to serve a three year term.

For meeting schedule please view our calendar.

Members include:
Thomas Waters - Community-at-Large
Robert Miller - Beautification and Garden Club
John Kelly - Community-at-Large
Robert Abbott - Ironton-Rail Trail
Richard Mondschein - Community-at-Large
Andrea Shumack - Senior Citizens
Elizabeth Fox - Disabled Community
Joseph Wilfinger - Historical Society
Mick Dee - Park & Recreation Board


view in Whitehall Township