MINUTES

January 2, 2024 Reorganizational Meeting

Board of Commissioners

Township of Whitehall

A. CALL TO ORDER

1. The Reorganizational Meeting of the Whitehall Township Board of Commissioners was called to order at 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, in the Public Meeting Room of the with the following in attendance:

COMMISSIONERS

TOWNSHIP PERSONNEL

Thomas Slonaker Jeffrey J. Warren Randy Atiyeh Alberta Scarfaro Ken Snyder Elizabeth N. Fox Joseph J. Marx, Jr., Mayor John D. Meyers, Deputy Mayor Jacob Oldaker, Attorney Frank Clark, Keystone Engineering Michael Marks, Police Chief David Nelson, Fire Chief Larissa Bruder, Executive Secretary

The Reorganizational Meeting was formally opened with the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag and a moment of silence will follow for our men and woman in uniform and our first responders.

Mayor MARX read the statement on fair housing as required.

B. OATH OF OFFICE - NEWLY ELECTED OFFICIALS

Mayor Joseph J. MARX, JR., as well as Commissioners Jeffrey WARREN, Randy ATIYEH, Ken SNYDER and Elizabeth N. FOX were sworn in by Notary Public Larissa BRUDER.

Mayor MARX noted that the meeting should proceed under the direction of the Township Attorney.

Commissioner SNYDER asked for clarification on the process of nominations and it was agreed upon that all nominations would be made, seconded, nominations closed then all nominations voted on.

C. REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

1. Attorney Oldaker requested a motion for nominations for President of the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner SCARFARO moved to nominate Commissioner SLONAKER, seconded by Commissioner WARREN.

Commissioner FOX moved to nominate Commissioner SNYDER, seconded by Commissioner SNYDER.

There were no further nominations. Commissioner SCARFARO moved to close nominations, seconded by Commissioner WARREN. Nominations were closed.

The Board was polled on Commissioner SLONAKER for President. Six Commissioners were present with four voting "yes" and two voting "no" (FOX & SNYDER). Motion carried.

The Board was then polled on Commissioner SNYDER for President. Six Commissioners were present with three voting "yes" and three voting "no" (SCARFARO, SLONAKER & WARREN). Motion fails.

President SLONAKER presided over the remainder of the meeting.

2. President SLONAKER requested a motion for nominations for Vice President of the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner SNYDER moved to nominate Commissioner SNYDER , seconded by Commissioner ATIYEH.

President SLONAKER moved to nominate Commissioner WARREN, seconded by Commissioner SCARFARO.

There were no further nominations. Commissioner SNYDER moved to close nominations, seconded by President SLONAKER. Nominations were closed.

The Board was polled on Commissioner SNYDER for Vice President. Six Commissioners were present with three voting "yes" and three voting "no" (SCARFARO, SLONAKER, WARREN). Motion fails.

The Board was then polled on Commissioner WARREN for Vice President. Six Commissioners were present with four voting "yes" and two voting "no" (SNYDER & FOX). Motion carried.

3. President SLONAKER requested nominations for Secretary of the Board of Commissioners.

Commissioner WARREN moved to nominate Commissioner ATIYEH, seconded by Commissioner SCARFARO.

There were no further nominations. Commissioner SCARFARO moved to close nominations, seconded by Commissioner WARREN Nominations were closed.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

D. <u>ADMINISTRATIVE APPOINTMENTS</u>

1. Commissioner WARREN moved, seconded by Commissioner SNYDER to approve the appointment of the firm of Gross McGinley, primarily Charles J. FONZONE as Township Solicitor, at a rate of \$125.00 per hour and \$110.00 per hour for associates.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

2. Commissioner SCARFARO moved, seconded by Commissioner ATIYEH to approve the appointment of KEYSTONE CONSULTING ENGINEERS, INC. as the Township Engineer firm, at rates per their 2024 Professional Fee Schedule.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

3. Commissioner WARREN moved, seconded by Commissioner SCARFARO to approve the reappointment of Scott LIPSON to serve as counsel to the Tax Appeals Board at a rate of \$125.00 per hours.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

4. Commissioner SCARFARO moved, seconded by Commissioner FOX to approve the reappointment of William FRIES to serve as counsel to the Zoning Hearing Board at a rate of \$125.00 per hour.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

5. Commissioner WARREN moved, seconded by Commissioner SNYDER to approve the reappointment of Lehigh Engineering Associates as the Township Conflict Engineering Firm, at rates er their 2024 Professional Fee Schedule.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

6. Commissioner SNYDER moved, seconded by Commissioner FOX to approve the reappointment of Kevin Fogerty, Esq as the Township Conflict Attorney, at a rate of \$125.00 per hour.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

7. Commissioner SNYDER moved, seconded by Commissioner WARREN to approve the appointment of Paul Harak, Esq. as the Township Zoning Hearing Board Conflict Attorney, at a rate of \$165.00 per hour and \$100.00 for paralegal.

Six Commissioners were present and voted "yes". Motion carried.

E. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner SCARFARO moved, seconded by Commissioner SNYDER to adjourn the meeting at 8:33p.m.